Skip to main content

Dale Mortensen

1939 - 2014

Longtime faculty member Dale Mortensen passed away on January 9, 2014. He was the Board of Trustees Professor of Economics at Northwestern University's Judd A. and Marjorie Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences. He was the recipient of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Economics. He won the prize with Peter Diamond, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Christopher Pissarides, London School of Economics and Political Science in the United Kingdom. The prize recognized "their analysis of markets with search frictions."

Professor Mortensen's family donated his Nobel Prize medal to Northwestern and it is proudly displayed in the Department of Economics.  The medal was unveiled to family, friends and colleagues at a special event on February 1, 2019.  View event photos


Press Coverage of Nobel Prize

Conference Honoring Professor Mortensen

Held at Northwestern University on April 15-16, 2011.

The conference was co-sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.

Friday, April 15, 2011




Robert Shimer (University of Chicago): Competitive Equilibrium in Asset Markets with Adverse Selection


Rasmus Lentz (University of Wisconsin): An Equilibrium Model of Wage Dispersion with Sorting


Kenneth Burdett (University of Pennsylvania): Tenure and Experience Effects on Wages: A Theory


David Easley (Cornell University): Network Formation in the Presence of Contagious Risk


John Kennan (University of Wisconsin): Higher Education Subsidies and Human Capital Mobility


Ronald Ehrenberg (Cornell University): Diversifying the Faculty across Gender Lines: Do Trustees and Administrators Matter?

Saturday, April 16, 2011




Randall Wright (University of Wisconsin): Buyers, Sellers and Middlemen: Variations on Search-Theoretic Theme


Panel Discussion: Macroeconomic Policy and Labor Markets: Lessons from Dale Mortensen's Research.
Moderated by Martin Eichenbaum (Northwestern University)

David Andolfatto (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Gadi Barlevy (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
Lawrence Christiano (Northwestern University)
Robert Hall (Stanford University)
Gianluca Violante (New York University)


Guido Menzio (University of Pennsylvania): Social Insurance for Frictional Wage Inequality

Media report on the conference


University Memorial Service

Held on Friday, January 31, 2014 at Alice Millar Chapel on the Evanston Campus
Memorial Service Program
Daily Northwestern memorial service coverage
University memorial service coverage


  • Timothy S. Stevens, Northwestern University chaplain
  • Morton Schapiro, Northwestern University President, and Professor of Economics
  • Robert Coen, Professor Emeritus of Economics, Northwestern University
  • Rasmus Lentz, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Kenneth Burdett, James Joo-Jin Kim Professor of Economics, University of Pennsylvania
  • Guido Menzio, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Pennsylvania
  • Karl Mortensen
  • Robert E. Lucas, John Dewey Distinguished Service Professor
    in Economics and the College, University of Chicago
  • Beverly P. Mortensen
  • B. J. Christensen, Professor of Economics, Aarhus University, Denmark